A Rollercoaster Year

What did you do in 2010 that you’d never done before?
Pressed delete, took a NYer around my city, had a hotdog with cream cheese, was truly rendered speechless by the action of friends (in the best possible way). Oh, and apparently I became Editor-in-Chief for the fansite of this show my friend’s in. I may have mentioned it once or twice…

Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
None to keep so none to break. I prefer not to break promises.

Did anyone close to you give birth?
Yup, I got two additions to the extended family this year – right at the end of the year. Amelie and Callum, two new bits of perfection for me to adore :).

Did anyone close to you die?
Auntie Norte, one of the kindest hearts I’ve ever known. Forever missed.

What countries did you visit?
Trips to my two most visited places, I think next year one will overtake the other – no prizes for guessing which. Trip to Fili for one of my bestest’s wedding and of course the usual trip to the US – NY, San Fran, and this time, Seattle.

What would you like to have in 2011 that you lacked in 2010?
A smaller credit card balance would always be nice, but I’m working on that and like the ad says, some things are just priceless. I’m not quite sure where I stand in terms of the job at the moment, so I would like some clarity on that. I’d also like to have some more time with good friends, and with that comes everything I could possibly need.

What date from 2010 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
April 24th. One of my favourite days, ever.

What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Launching and continuing to run ABMFans.com. Seriously had no idea what I was getting into when I started it, but people seem to like it.

What was your biggest failure?
That I was in a situation where I had to press delete, again.

Did you suffer illness or injury?
A pretty bad cold this year, but other than that I did okay. Thankfully.

What was the best thing you bought?
As it seems to be every year, a plane ticket.

Where did most of your money go?
Those plane tickets, I’m not prepared to give them up though.

What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Seeing Whoopi Goldberg on stage was a pretty big deal, especially after it was cancelled the first time round. The ticket was a little pricey but when else am I ever going to get the chance to see Whoopi Goldberg?!?!

What song(s) will always remind you of 2010?
Bruno Mars’ ‘Just the Way You Are.’

Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) Happier of sadder? I’m not entirely sure, I wouldn’t say happier but certainly not sadder. I think the closest I can get is ‘not unhappy.’
b) Thinner or fatter? Fatter.
c) Richer or poorer? I’m probably ending the year with more money than I’ve had for a while, let’s hope that continues into the New Year.

What do you wish you’d done more?
Worked on my homework, and written for myself. I remember a conversation with a NYer where they asked how my writing was coming along and I explained to them about ABMFans and LDNmeetsMNL and she was very happy to hear all of that but then she asked again, ‘How’s your writing going?’ Yeah, I got the point.

What do you wish you’d done less of?
Stress. It didn’t reach the proportions it has in previous years, but there was certainly more than necessary. I can be a worrier, what can I say?

Did you fall in love in 2010?
No, but I think there’s certainly the opportunity for that to change in the New Year.

What was your favourite TV programme?
Of course, Anyone But Me ruled my viewing, and broke my heart. It was also the year of the Food Channel though, I don’t think I’ve ever seen as much culinary television as I have this year. Top of that list was Adam Richman’s eternal battle of Man Vs. Food. He inspired and amazed me in every half hour episode. And, I completely Gleeked out!Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
To hate I’d have to still be holding onto it, I chose to let it go.

What was the best book you read?
I started to re-acquaint myself with Salinger this year and loved ‘Raise High the Roof Beam, Carpenters and Seymour: An Introduction.’ The way Buddy Glass simply adores his elder brother, Seymour, is something I definitely understand. However, best book by far was ‘Special Topics in Calamity Physics.’ Some of it was a bit too far-fetched but somehow it all managed to make sense in the end, in its own unique way. Blue Van Meer holds a special place in my heart, not least because of her resemblance to a certain someone.

What was your greatest musical discovery?
Bruno Mars certainly, it’s a tie between ‘Just the Way You Are’ and  ‘Marry You.’ Glee has a lot to answer for on that second one. However, I’ve recently discovered New Found Glory though and I am loving what they’ve done to some 80s classics, including ‘Crazy For You‘ and ‘Glory of Love.’

What did you want and get?
To see my friends, that’s all I ever need. This year, on one side of the ocean, on some side of the world, I got to see many of them.

What did you want and not get?
A trip to Cuba, but that’s not to say it isn’t going to happen, it’s just had to be postponed.

What was your favourite film of this year?
Definitely Kick-Ass. It changed significantly from the graphic novel but with an entrance like Hit-Girl’s, how could it be wrong?

What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
A turning of age for me this year, and entry into a whole new decade. The plan had been to be in Cuba, however an Icelandic volcano scuppered those plans. So instead I had a CubAsh Staycation. On the actual day I went to Stratford-upon-Avon to celebrate a well-known Brit and fellow April birthday celebrant and in the evening had a Mojito and Cuban food with G and the Baby Sis. Then the “big” celebration involved the hiring of a cinema to watch one of my favourite movies of the 80s, ‘Ferris Bueller’s Day Off’ with some of my bestest. I didn’t think the day could get better until a laptop was plonked in front of me and a very special birthday message delivered. Truly speechless at how blessed I am to have certain people in my life.

What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
I’m not sure how much more satisfying it would have made my year, but it would have been nice to have not been proved wrong – again. However, I think I always knew that was asking a little bit too much. Still I hoped, perhaps part of me still does.

How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2010?
I continued to think about getting “grown-up” clothes, without actually succeeding. I increased my Converse collection with the most kick-ass pair of Batman Converse Chucks as well as adding to my t-shirt collection.

What kept you sane?
My (in)sanity. I’m glad that they choose to keep me.

Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Definite crush on Adam Richman this year, although I have to say I was transfixed every time Zoe Saldana’s Calvin Klein ad came on. Seriously, wow.

What political issue stirred you the most?
The whole Con-DemNation fiasco had me literally shaking my head. All that work my party did to establish themselves as a viable third option for government has pretty much been washed down the drain ever since they formed the coalition government. With the recent tuition fees drama there’s no way they’ll ever gain as much momentum as they had, those students have many General Elections ahead of them. They won’t forget.

Who did you miss?
I kinda miss the way I was in 2009. I don’t know, in many ways I felt happier. I think I was a bit more grown-up than I like to be this year.

Who was the best new person you met?
This year there were a lot of meetings of people I’ve known for a long time but for whatever reason, usually geography, I hadn’t actually met yet. It was nice to finally add actual moments to the ones we’d already had.

Tell us a valuable lesson you learnt in 2010:
We are who we are when no one else is looking. Thank you Rev Run!

What was the nicest thing someone told you about yourself?
I wasn’t there to hear it but apparently someone I think the world of, thinks highly of me, and they’re not afraid of telling people that.

The most touching experience you’ve had this year?
The time that people made for me, especially the ABM peeps and the NYers. Whether it was for an interview or simply to go and share some food. A lot of people made time for me this year. It means the world that I matter enough that they would spend the time, there are many who haven’t.

What did you like most about yourself this year?
I made the decision to not give them the choice to let me down again.

What did you hate most about yourself this year?
I wouldn’t say hate, but I disliked the fact that I worked to deadline. I thought I’d know better by now.

Was 2010 a good year for you?
It was an okay year. It wasn’t my worst, but nowhere near my best. I think it was a year of highs and lows, the beginning part was good and then it sort of took a dip, and now I think it’s levelling out. In fairness it had a lot to live up to.

Where were you when 2010 began?
In my living room eating Red Velvet cupcakes and watching the fireworks on TV after struggling to get home from my first New Year’s Eve where I was crazy enough to go into the West End.

Who were you with?
G and Jan, as I tend to spend the beginning of most years.

Where will you be when 2010 ends?
As it’s in 5hrs I think I think I’m going to spend a quiet night indoors for once.

Who will you be with when 2010 ends?
The family.

Do you have a resolution for 2011?
No resolutions, but I’m going to try and be happy again. This whole “not unhappy” thing just feels like a waste.

What was your favourite month of 2010?
April. It wasn’t what I expected it to be, but like so much of my life, it was what it needed to be.

What was your favourite record from 2010?
I was loving the Glee soundtrack this year, really loving it. And surprisingly (well, kind of) the Legally Blonde Musical soundtrack. I really didn’t expect to enjoy that show as much as I did.

How many concerts and shows did you see in 2010?
There were a few…Wicked, Legally Blonde, Oliver, Dirty Dancing, Jersey Boys, Billy Elliot, and Les Mis. The most memorable though was finally getting to see Whoopi Goldberg in her final performance of Sister Act. She is a true legend.

Did you drink a lot of alcohol in 2010?
More than I’ve possibly drunk in any one year, not to say it was a lot, but definitely more.

Did you do anything you are ashamed of this year?
Nope, no shame here.

How much money did you spend in 2010?
Um…almost all of it?

If you could go back in time to any one moment of 2010 and change something, what would it be?
Everything happens for a reason, though there are some things I perhaps shouldn’t have done, but I hope I have learnt from them.

What are your plans for 2011?
There’s talk of Cuba, and Cambodia, and Copenhagen. Of the three I think Copenhagen is most likely. I hope to make something more out of ABM Fans, it deserves more. I plan to be financially sounds next year, I plan that every year, but I think it might actually happen this time! I think that’s it for now. Life generally takes me where I need to be.

How are you different now that the year has ended?
I think I’m more appreciative of what I have. I’m figuring out what makes me happy and realising that those things and people that don’t, have no room in my life. I’m a bit more of a grown-up, but in many ways still a kid. I think I’m still pretty much me.

Whose behaviour merited celebration?
The Brooklynite. Not only did he cross the ocean, he told me exactly what I needed when I needed to hear it, every time. We walked in each other’s respective cities and we enjoyed life. I am grateful he didn’t get himself killed during the England Vs USA game, that would’ve been difficult to explain to his loved ones.

Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?
I wouldn’t say I was depressed, and I can’t necessarily say I was appalled either, but there were certainly a few people whose behaviour disappointed me.

What are your wishes for the new year?
That I find my happiness, or at least more things to put in the “Yes” column.

Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:
“Kiss today goodbye, the sweetness and the sorrow. Wish me luck, the same to you. But I can’t regret what I did for love.” This is the song that played on shuffle after I’d gotten those messages (yes, I was listening to my Glee playlist at the time!). I knew what I had to do. The ensuing 50 block lecture only confirmed it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Questions

Leave a Reply

