Something to talk about…

I’ve made a conscious effort not to count how long it’s been since the last episode of Anyone But Me. I also try not to count how long it is until the next episode, or how many more episodes we have until the end of the season. I try not to do any kind of counting at all to do with ABM because it just gets kind of painful. So if you ask me when the last ep aired, I’d have to look it up. I know that since then I did this though. Anyway, despite my policy of not counting, as I went to sleep last night I still managed to count that there were only 6hrs until I’d be able to watch ep4 of ABM.

Of course, it wasn’t 6hrs of uninterrupted sleep because at 3am I saw a tweet from Susan Miller and I was torn between getting out of bed or waiting at least a few hours for a more decent hour. The sleepier more responsible side decided I should stay in bed, and a good thing too because I’d celebrated a bit too early and the ep hadn’t actually gone live yet. See, some part of my brain is working to do the sensible thing. Eventually it was over-ridden and I simply couldn’t stay in bed anymore. So, with confirmation from all my twitter sources that the ep was indeed live, it was time to get out of bed (NB. Twitter-tary (i.e. the short version) – is at the end of the post).

I was more eager than usual to see the new ep of ABM – yes I can actually get more excited about ABM eps than I have previously, because of the guest star that was making her appearance, Liza Weil. I’m not familiar with her work, Gilmore Girls was never really a big thing over here and she’s been in stuff that I’ve seen before, and even own, like The West Wing, Grey’s Anatomy, and CSI, but not in anything I would’ve immediately recognised her from. However, I have it on good authority from a trusted source – even though they have blatantly lied to me in the past, that she is an amazing actress. Plus, she’s married to Paul Adelstein and I love him on Peak Practice, so that’s enough to spark an interest.

In my quasi-Batman guise I’d guessed that the guest star would play Aster’s mum. I thought that would be an interesting relationship to explore, could you imagine it? I pictured lots of slammed doors and denial about how similar they really were. Having Aster’s shrink though opens up a whole world of possibilities, because let’s face it – how many people’s parents really have any clue who you are when you’re that age? How many people even know who they are at that age? Aster seems suspicious of her at the moment, but I think she’s that way with most adult figures until they prove they deserve to be thought of otherwise, but I think she wants to be able to talk to someone, and the Shrink seems pretty cool. I think this could be very good indeed. As the lady said herself, “I’m pretty awesome at being pregnant and doing things.”

Eventually Aster divulges why she’s in therapy, her parents are separating. Makes me wonder if that has anything to do with them keeping “human hours” lately. I don’t know, maybe it’s an American thing. As a Psych graduate I suppose I should be more of an advocate for this type of therapy, but I’m really not. I think we as a species managed just fine before psychoanalysis. Perhaps there were much more violent means of expression but then there was also art and music and writing, and I’ve always thought those were very therapeutic pursuits. I suppose I’m old school in that I believe if you need someone to talk to, that’s what your friends are for. That said, I’m very blessed in that department so I appreciate sometimes you need the impartiality of someone who is outside of the situation, although with money exchanging hands I don’t know how impartial they can be. But back to my point, and I do usually have one…


I’m more than a little concerned with Aster’s statement that, ‘Nobody stays together.’ Has she forgotten that she has a girlfriend? A rather lovely one at that. Also one that she hasn’t told that she’s in therapy or possibly even that her parents are splitting up. I have no doubt of the love that these two have for each other, and hiding something like this is never a good sign. Let’s hope the Shrink is right and it’s just Aster’s defence mechanisms kicking in. I feel my old fears from S1 resurfacing and as much as I love the drama it brought I am not loving the gut-wrenching heartache those two were put through. Come on writers remember: Vivian gets to be happy this season!

I forget sometimes how the young person’s mind works, it’s been a while since I was the age these characters are. Aster makes me smile though with her scathing remarks regarding her parent’s political correctness. Trust me, there are worse things for your parents to be than the kind who are of the ‘Whatever-makes-you-happy’ variety. At this age though, parents can very seldom win, and everyone else’s parents are cooler. Heck, even at the age I am now even though I can admit my folks are pretty damn cool, they can still be awfully embarrassing.

Meanwhile back in a coffee shop in Westchester (although I’m guessing it’s actually a coffee shop in Brooklyn), Vivian’s looking for something to occupy her time. Well, between weekday trips to the city and homework I suppose someone who’s used to living in New York has to find something to do. I like the, ‘You’re an actress – it’s expected’ line. Given the actresses I know, it’s actually far from what’s expected. But then again, I’m pretty fortunate in the actresses I know too. Anyway, it’s nice that Vivian’s making friends, even though Archibald is still noticeably absent. In fact, any guys of any description are absent from this episode.

Sometimes I think Vivian is completely clueless, especially where Sophie is concerned it seems. I think she’s just used to everyone being as straightforward as she is – although she is far from that herself, that she takes things at face value. Questions are met with raised eyebrows but once an explanation is offered then she accepts it. It can be a good way to be, however in this case I think she needs to question what it is that made Sophie ask whether she liked her in “that” way. I suppose she just chalks it up to Sophie being curious about her life and trying to learn more about who Vivian is. Hmm, I think Sophie needs some therapy.

What Vivian and Aster need is a room. Very nice touch to be able to show that the two of them are still very much together and (apparently) doing well without them actually being together. Well, you’ve got to make the long distance relationships work somehow. However, Vivian’s right, it’s completely unfair of Aster to call her when she knows she’s hanging out with her friends studying. Vivian though seems perfectly willing to let her be that kind of bad influence. You’ve got to love these two.

All in all, another excellent episode. Plus, the fact that this one’s over 8mins long hopefully silences some of the ‘It’s too short!’ critics. Okay, I think they’re too short too but I know the reasons, and if the only cirticism of this show is that it’s too short then I think the creators will take that. I like the Shrink. I especially like how her homework is to open up a space inside her brain for Aster. Pretty much what I’ve done with ABM, and I just keep cramming stuff in there to the point that it keeps spilling out and I don’t know when to shutup. Well, there are worse problems to have I’m sure. Like the Shrink, I have more than enough room for Aster and whatever else ABM delivers next.

Two weeks until the next ep. Thank goodness I have airline flights and wedding prep and white sand beaches to distract me until then…


The Twitter-tary

I swear Vivian’s had about 5 different phones.

“What’s life all about or just this moment here with me?” Moments. Life is made of moments.

Vivian and Aster stay together! They stay together right writers?!?!?

Lol “Whatever makes you happy” – sometimes that’s a good thing Aster.

LMAO the first time. I love Aster’s expression.

Oh she cursed. I think that’s the first time I’ve heard someone curse on this show.

UFOs on the wall? I’m guessing that’s the Flying Saucer cafe they love.

Hmm…coz I bet Sophie liked Vivian, in that way.

Yes Aster you have big emotions, this is why we love you.

Oooh Aster’s not big on the trust.

Why are you lying to your girlfriend Aster?

Oh it’s that kinda phonecall… 😉

Leave a comment

Filed under Critical Eye, Fanaticisms, Opinions Opinions, Passions

Leave a Reply

