The Perfect Year(?)

What did you do in 2009 that you’d never done before?
I started tweeting – and boy I just didn’t know how to stop lol! I also *PING*ed someone for the first time, although it was by accident. This Crackberry thing is a lot harder than it looks, although I was reminded that’s what I said about Twitter and 6,000+ tweets later I show no signs of stopping! I went to my first opera. Took my first trip off Manhattan when I went on the Staten Island Ferry and took the subway to Brooklyn – trees do grow there. For the first time in five trips, I managed to leave NY with a smile on my face and very much looking forward to my return. I wore several different hats this year. At times I was an event photographer, I was a casting agent, and I finally felt that I could legitimately call myself a writer.

Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
None to keep so none to break. I find it best that way.

Did anyone close to you give birth?
A couple of people at the job but no one I’m particularly close to. Next year though who knows?

Did anyone close to you die?
As always I’m grateful the answer to this is no. I hope it stays that way.

What countries did you visit?
This year was about me getting on a plane to share a meal with those whose faces I missed the most so it was all about the US. I had trips to San Francisco, LA, Vegas, Illinois, and of course NY.

What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?
My payrise would be nice, but that’s all very political and out of my hands at the moment. There’s hope I might see it at some point next year. Other than that I’d like to have more time. My year was so full, but then I think it could have been so much more if I’d only had the time. I would like to have spent more time with the kids, I was doing quite well at the start of the year but in the last quarter it got harder. I’ll do better next year.

What date from 2009 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
This year was full of memorable moments, the launch of LDNmeetsMNL, meeting Bert and Ernie, but I’m going to have to go with June 1st. Exactly half way through the year at the end of a road I’ve spent a long time travelling down, I ended up where I needed to be. I haven’t been able to stop smiling since.


What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Last year my answer to this question was, ‘Not being the one to go back, but being the person that they could come back to.’ I think perhaps that this year that was my biggest failing too. I allowed them to do exactly what they’d done before in the reckless hope that they’d prove me wrong, true to form – they didn’t. My biggest achievement is not allowing that to get the better of me, I finally stopped walking the line.

What was your biggest failure?
See above.

Did you suffer illness or injury?
No, just a lot of healing.

What was the best thing you bought?
Every shared meal, the ones I got on a plane to have and the ones I simply took a bus to get to.

Where did most of your money go?
Plane tickets, but they were worth every single penny.

What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Every episode of Anyone But Me, especially ep10 and the premiere of S2 lol. Getting to spend time with some of my favourite people on the other side of the ocean. Writing.

What song(s) will always remind you of 2009?
BEP’s ‘Meet me Halfway’ and Taylor Swift’s ‘You Belong to Me’ were our soundtrack on the Grand Adventure and so many of my memories of this year are tied up in that trip so I guess those two.

Compared to this time last ear, are you:
a) Happier of sadder? Happier, most definitely happier.
b) Thinner or fatter? Fatter.
c) Richer or poorer? Financially poorer, but absolutely richer in every other way. My bank balance certainly misses overtime but at least I’m not in deficit in the hours I should’ve spent with my friends.

What do you wish you’d done more?
Spent time with the kids.

What do you wish you’d done less of?
I think this is one year that I wouldn’t change, everything I did led to where I am now. I’m not sure I would be able to say that if I’d done less or more of anything. So for this year, no regrets.

Did you fall in love in 2009?
I think I might have.

How many one-night stands?
I doubt I’ll ever be that girl.

What was your favourite TV programme?
I’m not sure I watched any shows on TV, but in terms of shows that are on TV then surprisingly I would have to say it was Gossip Girl. I would never think that this was my kind of show but since the summer I have immersed myself in the lives of these Upper Eastsiders. I stand by the fact that this show has a serious geek pedigree.

IF, however, since I don’t technically watch shows on TV, then I think this question allows me to say my favourite show – on TV or otherwise, is of course, Anyone But Me. Now, I know exactly why this is my kind of show. Might have a little something to do with one of its stars. It’s my Happy Place. Plus, it’s the reason I started watching GG in the first place!

Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
My life is too full to waste any of it on hate.

What was the best book you read?
Again, a little unexpectedly, I’m gonna have to say the whole Twilight series. I devoured those books and I can’t explain how I did. I just got drawn into it and before I knew it I was a flipping Twi-hard! In an attempt to salvage some cool points, I also loved the whole Batman RIP run. If I didnt have them in comic form then I would definitely have it as a trade and it would be my favourite.

What was your greatest musical discovery?
AJ Rafael and Gabe Bondoc – love these guys. Gabe Bondoc’s version of ‘Love Story‘ was one of my fave musical discoveries of the year.

What did you want and get?
A shared meal. A walk through the city. And though I didn’t know I wanted it, or needed it, a new friend. Simple things.

What did you want and not get?
A healthy bank balance, but I have a plan so hopefully next year.

What was your favourite film of this year?
In terms of entertainment value then ‘Zombieland’ had quite possibly the best cameo in a movie ever.  For a movie of importance, ‘Milk.’ I have to mention (500) Days of Summer though, purely for the dance sequence alone, this year I knew exactly how it felt to be that joyous!

What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
2-9er brought to you by the letter ‘H’. We had a Holland Day in which I met Bert and Ernie (adulthood dream realised). I also went to Hampton Court and had a dinner at The Hut, during which I got mooned lol.

What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
A big lottery win would’ve been nice, but only because it would have afforded me to be able to do more and the time to do it. I think  my year was as full as it could have been. Actually, there’s a day in October where I would’ve liked to have been sharing a Jamba rather than being stood on the opposite corner to someone (they know who they are), but we were able to have that moment and it has come to be one of my most favourite stories.

How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2009?
Comfort yet again. I am starting to think that I need more “grown up” clothes though, the t-shirts are always cool but for some reason some people just don’t take them seriously.

What kept you sane?
Again, my (in)sanity, whose numbers actually grew this year. I wouldn’t know what to do without them, despite their being the main reason I grow increasingly less sane – but in the good way.

Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
I think I got a little crush on Kevin Smith lol. I think he’s the only person on my Twitter that tweets more than I do. Also, his run with ‘Batman Cacophony’ was one of the smartest and funniest I’ve read. I’ve always kinda loved him but I think finally getting to see him pushed me over the edge.

What political issue stirred you the most?
Marriage Equality – it’s not about special rights, it’s about equal rights.

Who did you miss?
It’s only in the last month or so that I’ve started to miss people because I’m not sure when it is I’ll see them again. I made sure that this year I did what I needed to do to make sure I didn’t miss anyone.

Who was the best new person you met?
When I started the year I kinda had a good idea what the answer to this would be. There was a little boy in Illinois that I knew I needed to meet. When I saw that he had a scar like Harry Potter I just completely fell for him.

However, as much as I love DD, in terms of someone who can actually hold a conversation with me and who doesn’t use me as a climbing frame then there’s only one person who could claim that title this year, Rachael. What’s to say? She’s my hero.

Tell us a valuable lesson you learnt in 2009:
Show up to life. It’s really that simple.

What was the nicest thing someone told you about yourself?
I’m not so sure that people said things to me, but their actions certainly showed me a lot. The actions of one in particular helped me to realise my own worth, which is always pretty nice. Recently, someone whose opinion means a lot to me told me I was a ‘wonderful writer’, coming from them – that means a heck of a lot.

The most touching experience you’ve had this year?
Mya climbing onto my lap when I was sat on the sofa asking me to read to her or her just being happy to sit there. I could spend days doing that. Next time I’ll visit for longer.

What did you like most about yourself this year?
That I got up after being knocked down, and instead of dusting myself off and allowing myself to be hit again, I simply stopped playing the game and ended up winning it all.

What did you hate most about yourself this year?
I didn’t.

Was 2009 a good year for you?
You know I dared this year to be better than the last, even if it all went pear-shaped from here I think it’s safe to say it met the challenge. 2010, let’s see what you’ve got!

Where were you when 2009 began?
Somewhere in south London.

Who were you with?
G and Jan whilst the folks partied away downstairs.

Where will you be when 2009 ends?
I think I may be home.

Who will you be with when 2009 ends?
G and possibly Jan, we haven’t finalised plans yet.

Do you have a resolution for 2010?
I’m not good with promises I make to myself, I prefer to just go with the flow.

What was your favourite month of 2009?
Things just seemed to get better and better from June onwards.

What was your favourite record from 2009?
I’m not sure I bought any albums this year. Kings of Leon were pretty good.

How many concerts and shows did you see in 2009?
A lot. There were a couple of operas, a few ballets, Pink – twice, and the musicals – La Cage aux Folles, Hairspray, 9 to 5, and of course Wicked amongst others.

Did you drink a lot of alcohol in 2009?
Not a lot, but there was some.

Did you do anything you are ashamed of this year?
I let a friend down because I was waiting on someone who in the end wasn’t worth it. I know better now.

How much money did you spend in 2009?
A heck of a lot, but you know, every moment that it allowed me to have was priceless.

If you could go back in time to any one moment of 2009 and change something, what would it be?
There’s really only one moment I’d go back to, I couldn’t do it differently though – I think I needed to be at that point to be able to do what I did next.

What are your plans for 2010?
To be happy. There are some travel plans there, a few people I’m hoping will take that flight across the ocean. Last year I was looking forward to a few things I had planned in terms of my writing, though that didn’t quite turn out some other things I’ve been involved in have. I’m quietly excited about what could be.

How are you different now that the year has ended?
I’m better than I’ve ever been, in all aspects of my life.

Whose behaviour merited celebration?
The Crazies and my (in)sanity in general, but in particular this year, Fatz. She’s the reason I went back to NY, and it was because she kept pushing me to just ask the question that my year turned itself around. She has made every day at the job more fun than it should ever be. I don’t know what my year would have been had she not been there. She’s taught me that even when you think you have the best people in your life, there’s always room for one more.

Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?
Once again, no names are necessary, they know who they are. Maybe one day they’ll figure out why I did what I did, but I’ve stopped trying to teach them that lesson.

What are your wishes for the new year?
That I can give my friends reason to smile. Also, that ABM wins a whole bunch of Streamys so you know if you haven’t already…go vote!

Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:
“You are an island of reality in an ocean of diarrhoea.”

5 Comments

Filed under Questions

5 responses to “The Perfect Year(?)

  1. I love this… I want to do this for mine (whenever I decide to do it.)

    It’s been quite a 2009. I wouldn’t of wanted it in any other way – well a couple things – but I got over that.

    I’m happy that GG and *PING* are a part of your world even if it did take a while. Also writing for LDNmeetsMNL.com – who knew it’d take us into the next year with more exciting ideas/concepts to look forward to.

    Most of all thanks for being you, for realising your ‘braver’ side… and of course, thanks for being a huge part of my (in)sanity. *^_^*

    Here’s to 2010… BRING IT ON!!

    • Gem

      One of those old LJ traditions that I have to carry forward now I’m a “blogger” lol. You should definitely do it, it always allows me to reflect on the year and put things into perspective.

      Yes, GG has truly become a part of my world. I’m glad it makes you happy. And yes, I am a fricking Crackhead – really, I’m glad that made you guys so happy. I don’t think I’ve ever seen all of you so excited as when I pulled that thing out!

      Aww Lans, you’re getting all emo again. Thanks should really go to you, for giving me so many wonderful opportunities and for embracing (and nurturing!) the crazier side of me =P

      Big BIG things in store for us in 2010!!!

  2. Thank goodness it was a Blackberry that you took out and not a shotgun – it would’ve been a completely different scream haha!!

    I think that as 2010 is going to be quite a year, then having a ‘blog’ will be a great way to remember, as who knows how long till the psychiatrics come knocking on my door with a white jacket.

    Me… emo… umm… never *tear*

    • Gem

      LMAO okay I admitted I have a crazier side but it’s the good kinda crazy. I don’t think you guys have pushed me *that* far over the edge! …yet 😉

      Definitely document it some way, I still can’t delete my old LJ because of everything that went on during those years. Not all of it good, but certainly lessons to be learnt and many good times to be remembered. And yes, it makes a wonderful diagnostic aid for your future shrink.

      Such a sap Lans – but that’s why I love you!

  3. lol haha basically 2009 was youtube artist discovery year for me

Leave a Reply

